[Op. 50c]. Moderne Psalmen. [Fragment, score, facsimile of autograph score, and facsimile of texts]. Arnold SCHOENBERG.

[Op. 50c]. Moderne Psalmen. [Fragment, score, facsimile of autograph score, and facsimile of texts]

Mainz: B. Schott's Söhne [without PN], [1956].

3 volumes. Folio. Original publisher's stiff light green printed wrappers with facsimile autograph title to uppers: "Moderne Psalmen von Arnold Schoenberg." Housed in publisher's light green linen-backed slipcase.

Vol. 1: [i] (title: "Der Erste Psalm für Sprecher, vierstimmigen gemischten Chor und Orchester: Partitur nach den hinterlassenen Skizzen Schoenbergs herausgegeben von Rudolf Kolisch," [i] (orchestra list), 22 (music) pp. Printed note to lower right corner of last page: "Stich und Druck von B. Schott's Söhne in Mainz 39328."

Vol. 2: Oblong folio. Not paginated. [i] (title), [xiv] (facsimile of incomplete autograph short score) pp.

Vol. 3: Not paginated. 1f. (title), [i] (portrait of Schoenberg on his deathbed with printed dedication by Gertrude Schoenberg), [i] (foreword by Rudolf Kolisch), [i] (part title: "Die Skizzen zum Ersten Psalm,", [viii] (musical sketches in facsimile), [i] (blank), [i] (part title: "Die Texte der Modernen Psalmen"), [xx] (16 texts: transcriptions to verso, facsimile to rectos), [i] (copyright notice), [ii] (blank) pp.

First Edition. Rufer (Engl.) pp. 76-77. Ringer p. 320. Tetsuo Satoh pp. 34-35.

Schoenberg's last composition; although it remained incomplete, Schoenberg assigned it an opus number. The edition was the work of violinist Rudolf Kolisch (1896-1978), the brother of Schoenberg's wife Gertrud, then professor at the University of Wisconsin–Madison and first violinist of the Pro Arte string quartet.

"Between 29 September 1950 and 3 July 1951 Schönberg drafted the texts of 'Modern Psalms,' which formulate his deeply religious thoughts in the form of a multi-faceted personal address to God in paraphrases of the Old Testament psalms. The composer had entitled each of the individual texts either 'Psalm' or 'Modern Psalm' and given them the collective title of 'Modern Psalms,' presumably with the intention of setting them to music; at the time of his death (on 13 July 1951), however, he had composed music only for the first text, now simply referred to as 'Modern Psalm,' op. 50C. Schönberg related the full title of his work-in-progress to Oskar Adler in a letter dated 23 April 1951: 'Psalms, Prayers and other Discourses with and about God.' The text for op. 50C ("O, you my God: all people praise you") encompasses both direct address to God as well as discourse about God, just as the title related to Adler describes." Website of the Arnold Schönberg Center, Vienna.

Item #24284

Price: $150.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by