Item #24563 Violinkonzert [Piano reduction]. Alban BERG.

Violinkonzert [Piano reduction]

Wien: Universal-Edition [PN U.E. 10903], ©1938.

Small folio. Original publisher's light green wrappers printed in dark green. 55 pp. + Violin: 15 pp.
Publisher's catalogue "Werke von Alban Berg" dated "XI. 1938" to verso of lower wrapper.

Wrappers partially detached. Slightly worn; upper outer corner dampstained throughout; occasional creases and small tears.

First Edition, first issue of this arrangement.
According to Universal Edition, there was no earlier issue. Only the full score was published in 1936.

The arrangement, not credited in the edition, is by the Austrian pianist Rita Kurzmann (née Pollak, 1900-1942). She premiered it with violinist Louis Krasner (1903-1995), who had commissioned the concerto. Kurzmann was engaged in the workers' music movement and emigrated to Argentina in 1936.

The double dedication—to Krasner and the "memory of an angel"—is noteworthy. The "angel" is Manon Gropius (1916-1935), daughter of Alma Mahler-Gropius (1879-1964) and Walter Gropius (1883-1969), whose early death from poliomyelitis shocked Vienna.

Item #24563

Price: $200.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by