[Op. 42]. Concerto For Piano and Orchestra [2-piano score]. Arnold SCHOENBERG.
STEUERMANN, Eduard 1892-1964 (arr.)

[Op. 42]. Concerto For Piano and Orchestra [2-piano score]

Reduction of Orchestra for a Second Piano by Edward Steuermann

New York: G. Schirmer [PN 40728], 1944.

Small folio. Original publisher's light green printed wrappers. 2ff., 99 pp. Printed dedication to head of title: "To Henry Clay Shriver." Explanatory note by Schoenberg in English.

From the collection of pianist Mario Feninger (1923-2016), his initials to head of title and occasional annotations in pencil.

Wrappers slightly browned, stained at edge, spine slightly frayed.

First Edition. Rufer (E), p. 70. GA B/15, pp. 94-95.
The full score was not published until 1946.

"Schönberg's Piano Concerto, op. 42, which was originally commissioned by his former student Oscar Levant, is conceived as a single-movement form displaying the characteristics of a multimovement sonata cycle. Like the program of the concerto it divides into four parts. The opening melody of the Concerto, lasting thirty-nine bars, presents the four modes of the tone row in the following order: basic set, inversion of retrograde, retrograde, and inversion... The manuscript includes the four parts of the programme (which - according to Schönberg scholarship - is clearly autobiographical), each accompanied by a musical example from one of the four sections of the concerto." © Arnold Schönberg Center.

Item #24933

Price: $250.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by