[Op. 23]. Fünf Klavierstücke... Op. 23. Arnold SCHOENBERG.
[Op. 23]. Fünf Klavierstücke... Op. 23

[Op. 23]. Fünf Klavierstücke... Op. 23

København & Leipzig: Wilhelm Hansen [PN 18298], [December 11, 1924]. Folio. Original decorative light green wrappers printed in dark green. [i] (title with photographic waist-length reproduction portrait of the composer within decorative border), [2] (instructions for performance), 3-20 pp. Notes to foot of p. 3: "Copyright by Wilhelm Hansen, Copenhagen" to left, "Wilhelm Hansens Nodestik og Tryk, Kjøbenhavn" to right.

Printed note, "Zweite Auflage" to upper left corner of upper wrapper. Publisher's catalogue listing opp. 23 and 24 (the latter also in various arrangements by Felix Greissle) to verso of lower wrapper.

With the signature of the noted German-born American pianist and composer Erich Itor Kahn ("EIKahn") in pencil to head of upper wrapper and the handstamp "Erich Itor & Frida Kahn Collections" to lower right corner of upper wrapper. Handstamp, "B. Firnberg Musikalien-Handlung Frankfurt [a. Main] Schiller-Strasse 20" to foot of title. Fingering, notational corrections, and other annotations (including duration "10' 30"" to upper left corner of p. 3) in pencil in the hand of Erich Itor Kahn.

Together with:
Another copy of the same edition, unsigned and without Firnberg stamp but with additional annotations to the score in Erich Itor Kahn's hand.

Both copies slightly worn and browned; other minor defects.

First Edition, second issue (the first issue was published in November of 1923). Rufer (Eng.) p. 42. Ringer p. 315. Tetsuo Satoh pp. 15-16. "In the second issue, which is billed as such, the portrait drawing on the title has been replaced with a photograph." Website of the Arnold Schoenberg Center, Vienna.

Erich Itor Kahn (1905-1956) studied at the Hoch'sches Konservatorium in Frankfurt. An early champion of Schoenberg, he gave the world premiere of the composer's piano piece op. 33a; he also studied the present op. 23 cycle early on. The notational corrections are of particular interest.

The waltz concluding the cycle, first sketched in 1921, is considered the earliest example of Schoenbergian twelve-note composition. Item #24950

Price: $550.00  other currencies

See all items in Music
See all items by