[Op. 28]. Drei Satiren für gemischten Chor Op. 28. [Score]. Arnold SCHOENBERG.

[Op. 28]. Drei Satiren für gemischten Chor Op. 28. [Score]

Wien... New York: Universal-Edition [PN. U.E. 8586], September 30, 1926.

Small folio. Original light green printed wrappers. [1] (title), [2] (contents), 3-4 (preface), 5-6 (texts), 7 (notes on performance), 8-53 (music), 54-58 (appendix: tonal canons) pp. Printer's note to lower right corner of p. 58: "Stich u. Druck der Waldheim=Eberle A.G."

Publisher's catalog no. 35 "Arnold Schönbergs Werke in der Universal-Edition" dated "VIII [August] 1926" to verso of lower wrapper.

Early owner's signature in pencil to head of upper wrapper: "Annegret Batschelet-Massini 1.2.[19]55."

With manuscript transcriptions in an unidentified hand (scores and parts) of the canon for string quartet from the appendix on music paper by Hug, Basel.

First Edition, first issue. Rufer (Engl.) p. 48. Ringer p. 316. Tetsuo Satoh pp. 21-22.

All texts are by Schoenberg himself. The second piece, "Vielseitigkeit," is a notorious spoof on Stravinsky, ridiculed as "der kleine Modernsky."

"In a letter to Amadeo Filippi in May 1949 Schoenberg wrote that the Drei Satiren were composed when he had been very angered by the attacks by some of his younger contemporaries. Through the Satires he wanted to attack all those who 'seek personal salvation by taking the middle road...' Secondly, 'take aim at those who pretend to aspire "back to..." ' Thirdly, he wanted to attack the 'folklorists... and finally all those "ists" 'in whom I can only see mannerists. Their music is enjoyed most by those who constantly think of the slogan, which is intended to prevent them from thinking of anything else.' Joseph Auner: A Schoenberg Reader, pp. 186-7.

Annegret Batschelet-Massini (1918-2004) was a Swiss violinist and music teacher, known as an ardent champion of contemporary music. Ernst Krenek dedicated his Albumblatt für Gesang und Klavier, op. 228 (1977), to her.

Item #25054

Price: $500.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by