Liebesrausch. [Piano-vocal score]. Ákos BUTTYKAY.

Liebesrausch. [Piano-vocal score]

Operette in 3 Akten von Földes Imre. Deutsch bearbeitet von Robert Bodanzky ... Klavierauszug mit Text netto Mk. 16.

Leipzig – Wien: Eibenschütz & Berté [E. & B. 220], 1920.

Folio. Sewn. [2] (title, cast list/contents), 3-91, [1] (blank) pp. Text in German.

Wrappers somewhat worn and browned; spine reinforced with paper tape. Several signatures loose; mall tears to outer leaves, one to title with tape repair.

First German Edition.

Buttykay's operetta Az ezüst sirály, with a libretto by Imre Földes, was first performed in Budapest at the Városi Színház on February 6, 1920. The German translation by Robert Bodanzky (Liebesrausch) premiered that same year in Vienna. Both productions starred Buttykay's wife, soprano Emmy Kosáry (1889-1964).

Buttykay studied piano and composition at the National Conservatory in Budapest and continued his studies in Weimar. He performed throughout Germany and Austria as a concert pianist before returning to teach in Budapest. The majority of his compositions reflect a late romantic and lyrical style, with few Hungarian influences evident.

Item #31760

Price: $35.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by