Csárdás. Dávid RIDLEY-KOHNE.


á Monsieur François Erkel. Varié pour violon avec accompagnement de piano ... Pr. 1 fl.C.M. [Parts].

Pest: Rózsavölgyi & Cie [PN R. et C. No. 28], [1852].

Folio. Sewn. 1f. (title), 3-11, [1] (blank) pp. + violin part (4 pp.). Engraved.

Decorative lithographic title page with additional imprints of Whistling in Leipzig and Glöggl in Vienna. Bookseller's handstamp to foot of title and first pages of music.

Outer leaves browned and soiled; moderate offsetting throughout; some corners creased; spine reinforced with tape.

First Edition, variant issue. Mona 961. Scarce.

Violinist and composer Ridley-Kohne spent the majority of his career performing and teaching in Pest. His compositions are almost exclusively dances and tunes for the violin.

The "Éljen!" Csárdás is the composer's most popular work. The present copy has a variant title page that omits the patriotic Hungarian "Éljen!" (Long live!), in all likelihoood due to the Vienna imprint.

Item #32001

Price: $85.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by