Schön ist die Welt! [Piano-vocal score]. Franz LEHÁR.

Schön ist die Welt! [Piano-vocal score]

Operette in 3 Akten von Ludwig Herzer und Fritz Löhner ... Klavierauszug mit Text Originalausgabe des Komponisten. Eingerichtet nach der Aufführung im Theater a.d. Wien.

Wien: W. Karczag [PN W. K. 921], 1930.

Folio. Original publisher's light green wrappers printed in dark blue. 2ff. (title, named cast list, contents), 3-111, [1] (blank) pp.

With named cast list from the Vienna, December 21, 1931 performance directed by Hubert Marischka and featuring Gustav Charlé, Hans Heinz Bollmann, Mizzi Günter, and Adele Kern, among others.

Slight wear to wrappers; musicseller's handstamp to foot of upper; head and tail of spine repaired with glue. Lightly browned throughout.

First Edition, revised issue from the Vienna performance.

Operetta, 3 acts. Libretto by Ludwig Herzer and Fritz Löhner based on Lehár's earlier operetta Endlich Allein (1914). Premiered Berlin, Metropol, 3 December 1930. A slightly revised version opened in Vienna, Theater an der Wien, 21 December 1931.

"[Lehár] was the leading operetta composer of the 20th century, being primarily responsible for giving the genre renewed vitality. His most successful operetta, Die lustige Witwe, has established a lasting place in the opera as well as the operetta repertory and, along with Offenbach and Johann Strauss II, Lehár has remained one of the most popular composers of light music." Andrew Lamb in Grove Music Online.

Item #32026

Price: $35.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by