Wo die Lerche singt... [Piano-vocal score]. Franz LEHÁR.

Wo die Lerche singt... [Piano-vocal score]

Operette in vier Bildern (nach einem Entwurf des Dr. Franz Martos) von A. M. Willner und Heinz Reichert ... Klavierauszug mit Text

Wien: Glocken-Verlag [PN G.V. 90], 1937.

Folio. Original publisher's gray printed wrappers. [2] (title, cast list, contents), 3-108 pp.

Handstamp of Waldheim-Eberle to upper along with date stamp of July 8, 1950.

Wrappers lightly foxed at edges.

First Edition of the revised version, later issue.

Lehár's operetta A pacsirta, composed to a libretto by Ferenc Martos after the Charlotte Birch-Pfeiffer's play Dorf und Stadt (1847)m was first performed in Budapest at the Király Theatre on January 1, 1918. The German version by A. M. Willner and Heinz Reichert was premiered in Vienna at the Theater am Wien on March 27, 1918. It was later revised into a four-scene version published in 1937.

"The folkloristic part of the music is anything but stereotyped; the waltzes, fifteen in number, are without exception of striking originality. Where the Hungarian element in Zigeunerliebe was all fire and passion, in die Lerche it became idyllic and tender. The score shows, too, a clear step towards the great transformation: Lehár's change from the dizzy heights of Endlich allein, with its unclimbed summit, to the bucolic landscape of his late works: the definite recognition of an aim which carries with it the promise of magnificent fulfilment." Grun: Gold and Silver, p. 178.

Item #32043

Price: $40.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by