[Op. 72; arr.]. Fidelio [Piano-vocal score]. Ludwig van BEETHOVEN.
GEVAERT, François-Auguste 1828-1908 (arr.)

[Op. 72; arr.]. Fidelio [Piano-vocal score]

Opéra en 3 actes d'après la drame musical de Bouilly Léonore ou l'Amour Conjugal ... Traduction Française de G. Antheunis; Récitatifs remplaçant le dialogue parlé et nouvelle réduction au piano de F. A. Gevaert. Prix Net: 15 Francs.

Paris: Heugel & Cie. [1890].

Large octavo. Original publisher's decorative wrappers printed in green and black. 4ff. (title, named cast list, arranger's note, contents), 384 pp. Text in French and Italian.

Named cast list from the first performance of this version in Brussels, 11 March 1889: Messrs. Chevallier, Seguin, Gardoni, Gandubert, and Renaud; Mme. Caron; and Mlle. Falize.

Wrappers worn and creased; spine reinforced with brown paper tape. Light browning to edges; a few pages creased.

Later French edition of the third (1814) version.

Belgian composer and musicologist Gevaert had moderate success in both Paris and Belgium with his operas, but is best known today for his scholarly and pedagogical works.

Item #32501

Price: $65.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by