[Op. 13]. Grand Quatuor pour le Pianoforte Violon, Viola et Violoncelle. Ferdinand RIES.

[Op. 13]. Grand Quatuor pour le Pianoforte Violon, Viola et Violoncelle

composé et dedié à Son Altesse Monseigneur le Prince Regnant de Lobkowitz Duc de Raudnitz, Chambellan de S.M.I. & R. etc ... Op. 13. Pr. 1 R[tlr][. 16 Gr. [Parts].

Leipzig: C.F. Peters (Bureau de Musique.) [PN 700], [1815-1816].

Folio. Disbound.

Piano: [1] (title), 2-21, [i] (blank) pp.
Violin: 4 pp.
Viola: 3, [i] (blank) pp.
Violoncello: 3, [i] (blank) pp.

Small circular publisher's handstamp to lower inner left corner of title; blindstamp to lower outer corners of first leaves of piano part.

Slightly worn and soiled.

Hill p. 13. First published in Leipzig by Kühnel in 1808.

A pianist and composer, Ries spent from 1801-1804 "studying in Vienna with Beethoven and often acting as his secretary and copyist. Beethoven taught him the piano, but sent him to Albrechtsberger for composition. Beethoven also secured him an appointment as pianist to Count Browne in Baden in 1802, and with Prince Lichnowsky for the summer of 1805. Ferdinand made his début as Beethoven’s pupil on 1 August 1804 at the Augarten. He performed Beethoven’s C minor Concerto with his own cadenza, playing a most difficult passage against Beethoven’s advice and, to his master’s delight, succeeding..."

"... He collaborated with F.G. Wegeler in Biographische Notizen über Ludwig van Beethoven ... one of the most important early biographies of Beethoven." Cecil Hill in Grove Music Online.

Item #33585

Price: $175.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by