25th Retrospective Concert of the Music of John Cage. John CAGE.

25th Retrospective Concert of the Music of John Cage

Recorded in performance at Town Hall, New York, May 15, 1958


Three 33-1/3 long playing records of the concerto. As new, in original album sleeves.

Together with:
An accompanying booklet. Quarto. Original publisher's light brown printed wrappers designed by Jerry Lieberman. With photographic illustrations by Bob Rauschenberg, Bob Cato, Remy Charlip, and George Moffett. 12 pp. text, including essays entitled The Future of Music: Credo, Seattle, 1937; Experimental Music; and About the Concert by George Avakian.

Together with:
12 bifolia printed on one side of the leaf only, consisting of introductory performance notes and single pages of music of the following works, printed on light brown paper, as issued:
- Concert for Piano and Orchestra (the 51st and 180th pages)
- Construction in Metal (the 2nd page)
- Imaginary Landscape No. 1 (the 1st page)
- Music for Carillon (the 1st page)
- Quartet: Twelve Tom Toms
- She is Asleep
- Solo with Obbligato Accompaniment of 2 Voices in Canon (last measure) and the first of the Six Short Inventions and two measures of the second
- Sonata I
- Table of Preparations for the Sonatas and Interludes
- Williams Mix (the 5th page)
- The Wonderful Widow of Eighteen Springs

In original publisher's box.

Textual material and box very slightly worn.

Cage was "one of the leading figures of the postwar avant garde. The influence of his compositions, writings and personality has been felt by a wide range of composers around the world. He had a greater impact on music in the 20th century than any other American composer." James Pritchett, Laura Kuhn and Charles Hiroshi Garrett in Grove Music Online.

Item #34079

Price: $500.00  other currencies

See all items in Books
See all items by