[Op. 23a]. Medea's Meditation and Dance of Vengeance [Study score]. Samuel BARBER.

[Op. 23a]. Medea's Meditation and Dance of Vengeance [Study score]

New York: G. Schirmer [PN 43918], 1956.

Octavo. Original publisher's yellow printed wrappers with titling to upper, publisher's advertisements to lower. 1f. (recto title, verso instrumentation), 53 pp.

Wrappers slightly worn. Light uniform browning.

First Edition. Heyman H-123, p. 340.

Medea's Meditation premiered in New York by the Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Dimitri Mitropoulos, on 2 February 1956.

"One of the most honoured and most frequently performed American composers in Europe and the Americas during the mid-20th century, Barber pursued, throughout his career, a path marked by a vocally inspired lyricism and a commitment to the tonal language and many of the forms of late 19th-century music. Almost all of his published works – including at least one composition in nearly every genre – entered the repertory soon after he wrote them and many continue to be widely performed today ... [Barber's] ballet score Medea (1946) was composed for Martha Graham; it was subsequently reworked both as an orchestral suite and as a separate orchestral tone poem, Medea's Meditation and Dance of Vengeance." Barbara B. Heyman in Grove Music Online.

Item #34163

Price: $40.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by