[Op. 14]. String Quartet [Score]

London: Schott & Co. [PN Edition 10816], ©1962.

Folio. Original light gray publisher's printed wrappers. 11, [1] (blank) pp. With printed performance note to title. Notation printed in red and black.

From the collection of noted musicologist Stanley Boorman, his signature to upper outer corner of upper wrapper.

Slightly worn; small circular publisher's handstamp to lower outer corner of title.

First Edition.

Peter Maxwell Davies emerged as the leading British composer of his generation, succeeding Benjamin Britten as an unapologetic representative of approachable modernism. His vast output encompasses all genres, and his unique voice is heard throughout, particularly after moving to Orkney in 1971–his home and inspirational muse for the rest of his life.

His String Quartet (1961) was written when Davies had moved away from tone rows and began incorperating compositional techniques modelled after medieval and Renaissance polyphony. He was particularly fascinated by the Vespers of Monteverdi.

Item #34263

Price: $50.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by