Plus Minus [Score]. Karlheinz STOCKHAUSEN.
Plus Minus [Score]

Plus Minus [Score]

2 x 7 Seiten für Ausarbeitungen. Nr. 14. Partitur

London: Universal Edition [PN UE 13993 LW], ©1965.

Quarto. Original publisher's white printed wrappers. 16 pp. + 14 leaves laid in. With performance instructions in German and English. Notation consists of 7 pages of notes and 7 pages of symbols.

From the collection of American composer Brian L. Fennelly (1937-2015), with his small handstamp to blank upper outer corner of title.

Wrappers slightly worn; lower outer corner creased; small tear to right edge of upper, with tape repair to verso.

First Edition. Maconie, p. 226.

Plus Minus was first interpreted by pianists Cornelius Cardew and Frederic Rzewski in Rome, 14 June 1964. The piece was designed to test composition students for Stockhausen's new series of courses in Cologne.

"This is not music that can be rendered directly from the published notation: a score has to be prepared–like Zyklus, but more so–before it can be performed. Such a conception of music is like a statement in algebra, or a computer program, in proposing a transformational logic independent of its musical content. A complicated score, the complexity of Plus-Minus is part of the composer's message: serial music is hard work." Maconie, p. 227.

"The leading German composer of his generation, [Stockhausen] was a seminal figure of the post-1945 avant garde. A tireless innovator and influential teacher, he largely redefined notions of serial composition, and was a pioneer in electronic music ... Gruppen for three orchestras (with three conductors), [is] probably the foremost orchestral achievement of the 1950s avant garde ..." Richard Toop in Grove Music Online.

Item #34343

Price: $60.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by