Klavierstück VI. Karlheinz STOCKHAUSEN.

Klavierstück VI

Nr. 4. Kompositionsauftrag der Stadt Darmstadt

London: Universal Edition [PN 13675 b LW], ©1965.

Oblong folio (228 x 307 mm). Original publisher's ivory print wrappers. [1], 45ff laid in, printed on rectos only. Foreword laid down to verso of upper wrapper. With foreword and commentary in German and English.

Printed dedication to David Tudor to title.

From the collection of noted musicologist Stanely Boorman, with his signature to title and notes in pencil throughout, plus 4 sheets of notes on tone rows and cells.

Wrappers worn; small tears to spine.

First Edition, likely first issue. Maconie, p. 127.

Stockhausen's second set of Klavierstücke (V-VIII) were composed in 1954-55; VI was revised in 1961.

"Piece VI, in revised form now the longest of the set, draws upon all of the modes of coordination employed in V, VII, and VIII, and anticipates the extraordinary temporal flux of Piece X. For the first-time, tempo-changes corresponding to the verbal indications of Piece V are graphically expressed as linear shifts on a 13-line stave, a line moving upward for an accelerando, downward for a ritardando, and vanishing completely during a pause." Maconie, p. 129.

"The leading German composer of his generation, [Stockhausen] was a seminal figure of the post-1945 avant garde. A tireless innovator and influential teacher, he largely redefined notions of serial composition, and was a pioneer in electronic music ... " Richard Toop in Grove Music Online.

Item #34421

Price: $60.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by