Refrain [Score]. Karlheinz STOCKHAUSEN.
Refrain [Score]
Refrain [Score]

Refrain [Score]

Für drei Spieler. Nr. 11

London: Universal Edition [PN U.E. 13187 LW], ©1961.

Small folio. Single heavy-weight folded sheet plus thin transparent strip with notaion. Title on front, graphic notation on inner pages, performance instructions on back in German, French, and English.

From the collection of American composer Brian L. Fennelly (1937-2015), with his small handstamp to blank upper outer corner of upper wrapper.

Slightly browned at edges.

First Edition. Maconie, p. 170.

Refrain is scored for three players doubling instruments: piano/woodblocks, vibraphone/cowbells, amplified celesta/antique cymbals. The graphic score by Wilhelm Bernhard Kirchgaesser includes a transparent strip that is rotated over the score to produce a refrain of interruptions.

"Visually arresting, Refrain nevertheless makes good design sense and is not difficult to read. The curvature of the staves allows the 'refrain' strip to be rotated across the page to introduce shimmering disturbances to the placid calm of the music below. The musical conception and audience perception are not affected in any way by changes in location and timing of the refrain itself; indeed one could claim that a listener's sense of a natural event is enhanced by the uncertainty built into the design." Maconie, p. 170.

"The leading German composer of his generation, [Stockhausen] was a seminal figure of the post-1945 avant garde. A tireless innovator and influential teacher, he largely redefined notions of serial composition, and was a pioneer in electronic music ... " Richard Toop in Grove Music Online.

Item #34423

Price: $135.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by