Howl [Graphic score]

dla recytatora i zespołu wykonawców wg Allena Ginsberga / for speaker and ensemble of performers after Allen Ginsberg

Kraków: Polskie Wydawnictwo Muzyczne, 1974.

Oblong folio (295 x 425 mm). Original publisher's illustrated folder with titling to upper, composer's catalogue to verso of lower, instrumentation to lower flap. With 8ff. (graphic score), 2ff. (liner notes to accompany the 1 March 1971 National Philharmonic concert, Polish Radio, text in Polish), 2ff. (liner notes in English, translated by Leszek Elektorowicz), 1f. (extracts from Ginsberg's HOWL) laid in.

Slightly worn and browned.

"The score consists of 85 sections of varying length; although their duration is not strictly defined, they are measurable in terms of their proportions ... and depend, clearly enough, not only on their length but also on the manner of the presentation of the text. ...the performers have to go far beyond the sphere of playing in an ensemble, beyond the conventions governing an ensemble conceived as a coherent organism. ... Howl should be regarded as a poetical composition, a kind of monodrama for speaker and ensemble; the task of the latter does not consist in providing an "accompaniment" to the former, but in creating and atmosphere appropriate for his words and actions." Bogusław Schäffer, from liner notes

"[Schäffer] has consistently pursued an iconoclastic path through Polish culture, not only as an avant-garde composer, but also, since the mid-1970s, as a writer, painter and, most recently, a playwright and theatre director. ...His compositions are highly gestural and conceptual, frequently employing graphic notation and electronic means. They include over 20 pieces of music theatre often described as ‘happenings’, whose duration might be anything from less than a minute to eight hours." Adrian Thomas in Grove Music Online.

Item #34439

Price: $40.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by