1.X.1905: piano à 2 ms. Leoš JANÁČEK.

1.X.1905: piano à 2 ms.

Praha: Hudební Matice Umelecké Besedy [PN H.M. 339], 1924.

Quarto (315 x 245 mm). Original publisher's printed wrappers. Unbound as issued. 1f. (recto title, verso blank), [3] (dedication), 4-12 pp. Text in Czech, French, German, and English.

With printed dedication "To the mémory[!] of the workman killed the 5th of October 1905 during the manifestations for the Czech University at Brno."

Ex libris American concert pianist Mario Feninger (1923-2016), with his initials to head of upper wrapper. With "B.G. Kingsley, Oct 4, 1929 from Prague" in manuscript to upper margin of title.

Wrappers slightly worn; minor dampstain to lower outer corner; browned. Light uniform browning internally, slightly heavier to title.

First Edition. Simeone H77, p. 233.

The present work premiered on 27 January 1906 in Brno at the Friends of the Arts Club, with Ludmila Tučkovà at the piano.

Intended as a tribute to a young carpenter, František Pavlík, who was killed during demonstrations in support of the Czech University in Brno. Included with the dedication is an inscription by Janacek: "The white marble of the steps of Besední domu in Brno. The ordinary labourer František Pavlík falls, stained with blood. He came merely to champion higher learning and has been slain by cruel murderers."

"[Janáček's] reputation outside Czechoslovakia, and German-speaking countries, was first made as an instrumental composer, with a small number of chamber and orchestral pieces written alongside the operas, which he considered his main work. The balance has now been largely redressed and he is regarded not only as a Czech composer ranked with Smetana and Dvořák, but also as one of the most substantial, original, and immediately appealing opera composers of the 20th century." John Tyrrell in Grove Music Online.

Item #34443

Price: $50.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by