[Op. 28]. Von deutscher Seele [Piano-vocal score]. Hans PFITZNER.

[Op. 28]. Von deutscher Seele [Piano-vocal score]

Eine romantische Kantate nach Sprüchen und Gedichten von Jos. Von Eichendorff. Für 4 Solostimmen, gemischten Chor, großes Orchester und Orgel … Klavierauszug mit Text

Berlin: Adolph Fürstner [PN A 7702 F], ©1921.

Small folio. Original publisher's wrappers illustrated by Christophe with titling within decorative border with floral motifs. 173 pp. Text in German. With printed dedication to head of title: "Dem Andenken meiner lieben Schwägerin Eva Kwast gewidmet."

Wrappers brittle and significantly chipped at edges; detached. Moderately browned throughout.

First Edition. Williamson, p. 357.

Von deutscher Seele, a secular cantata after texts by Eichendorff, was premiered in Berlin, 27 January 1922. The work was intended to be a patriotic celebration of Germany in the dark years following the end World War I. Views of both Pfitzner and his cantata were greatly transformed, however, after it was chosen years later to be part of the first Reichsmusiktage in 1938.

Hans Pfitzner went from being criticized for not following tradition to being ostracized for holding on to tradition. He was caught first in the middle of a mass upheaval in Western music and, later, in the tortuous transformation of Germany. He wrote in all genres, and experienced the most success with his stage works in the early years of the century. This afforded him opportunities to teach and conduct at conservatories in Berlin and Strassburg. A series of tragedies, both national and personal, beset the composer beginning with Germany losing World War I and continuing through the loss of his wife, friends, and children. With Alsace-Lorraine handed back to the French, Pfitzner was sent from Strassburg to Munich, where he came into contact with Hitler; his fate became inextricably linked to the Nazi party despite maintaining an apolitical stance and mostly withdrawing from public view.

Item #34742

Price: $60.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by