[ČW 100-102; Op. 2]. Souvenir de Hapsal. [Solo piano]. Pyotr Il’yich TCHAIKOVSKY.

[ČW 100-102; Op. 2]. Souvenir de Hapsal. [Solo piano]

Trois morceaux pour le piano, composès et dediés à V.V. Davidoff ... Op. 2

Paris: Félix Mackar [PN 431], [ca. 1885].

Folio. 1f. (recto title with illustration of the ruined Happsalu Castle, verso blank), 3-17, [i] (blank) pp.

From the collection of American pianist Mario Feninger (1923-2016), with his intials in red and handstamp to title.

Small publisher's handstamp to foot of title.

Slightly worn; dampstaining to upper margin and lower corners; some leaves chipped.

French re-issue of the Jurgenson first edition of 1868. Vajdman ČW 100-102, p. 510. Poznansky TH 125, p. 309. French publisher Félix Mackar purchased all rights to print Tchaikovsky's works in France and Belgium in 1888, reprinting many of the Jurgenson editions with the Mackar imprint.

Tchaikovsky wrote this set of three pieces while vacationing with his family in the coastal town of Hapsal (present-day Haapsalu, Estonia). The third piece, Chant sans paroles, is the best-known and often published and performed separately.

Item #34757

Price: $40.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by