[ČW 112-117; Op. 19]. Six morceaux pour le Piano ... Op. 19. Pyotr Il’yich TCHAIKOVSKY.

[ČW 112-117; Op. 19]. Six morceaux pour le Piano ... Op. 19

Paris: Félix Mackar [PNs 2315-2320], [ca. 1885].

Folio. [1] (decorative title printed in red and blue), 2-37, []] (blank) pp. With printed dedication to head of first page of music: "A M. Nicolas Kondratief."

From the collection of American pianist Mario Feninger (1923-2016), with his handstamp to head of title and initials above imprint.

Publisher's handstamp and price to foot of title.

Outer leaves somewhat browned and foxed. Some showthrough; occasional offsetting.

French re-issue of the Jurgenson first edition of 1874. Vajdman ČW 112-117, pp. 525-6. Poznansky TH 133, p. 315. French publisher Félix Mackar purchased all rights to print Tchaikovsky's works in France and Belgium in 1885, reprinting many of the Jurgenson editions with the Mackar imprint.

Two of the six pieces were premiered before publication: Hans von Bülow performed Thème original et variations in Kharkiv in April of 1873 and Rubinstein performed Rêverie du soir in Moscow on 22 February 1874. Roland Wiley notes in Grove that the theme and variations is Tchaikovsky's "first piano composition to exceed the dimensions of a miniature."

Item #34758

Price: $65.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by