[ČW 21; Op. 13]. Symphonie No. 1 (Réverie d'hiver) pour grand orchestre ... Op. 13. [Piano 4-hands]. Pyotr Il’yich TCHAIKOVSKY.
Langer, Ėduard, 1835-1905, arr.

[ČW 21; Op. 13]. Symphonie No. 1 (Réverie d'hiver) pour grand orchestre ... Op. 13. [Piano 4-hands]

Nouvelle édition, revue et corrigée par l'auteur ... A Nicolas Rubinstein

Moscou–Leipzig: P. Jurgenson [PN 6397], [ca. 1905].

Folio. Half dark brown leather with black pebbled cloth boards, titling gilt to upper, spine in decorative compartments gilt, titling gilt. [1] (title), 2-73, [i] (blank) pp.

With "Ebstrup" gilt to foot of upper board and signature ("Beug[?] Ebstrup") dated 1916 to upper outer corner of front free endpaper.

Binding somewhat worn, rubbed, and bumped. Slightly browned throughout.

Revised edition, later issue. Vajdman ČW 21, p. 289. Poznansky TH 24, p. 143.

Tchaikovsky's First Symphony premiered in parts and went through numerous revisions before the third and final version was published by Jurgenson in 1875. This version was not premiered until November 19, 1883. The transcription for piano 4-hands by Ėduard Langer was published at the same time as the full score, with both issued in corrected editions after 1888.

"Tchaikovsky’s symphonies of any period are opulent, technically demanding essays in the relationship of language to form. Rich in musical substance, they also respond to Western expectations of integrated structure and coherence. These qualities mark their generic identity, as Tchaikovsky displays the rapprochement of Russian individuality with this proudest of Western genres. Aligning inspiration with genre explains the unusual features of the first three symphonies, his seeking critique from his former teachers, and the ease with which they discerned a tension between his music and their expectations of genre." Roland John Wiley in Grove Music Online.

Item #34760

Price: $60.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by