Piano Concerto in E-flat major [2-piano reduction]. Mily BALAKIREV.

Piano Concerto in E-flat major [2-piano reduction]

Kontsert dlya fortep'yano s soprovozhdeniem orkestra. Soch. Miliya Balakireva. Okonchen I perelozhen dlya 2-ch fortep'yan S. Lyapunov'im

Leipzig: Jul. Heinr. Zimmermann [PN Z. 5021], ©1911.

Folio. Original publisher's green wrappers printed in dark brown. [1] (title printed in dark brown), 2-104, [ii] (blank) pp. Title in French and Russian to upper. Publisher's catalogues of the works of Balakirev and Liapounov to verso of upper; "Interessante Klaviermusik" to recto and verso of lower wrapper.

Wrappers slightly worn and foxed; small ink stain to head of upper with small handstamp to foot. Uniform light browning; occasional foxing, primarily to title and several blank margins.

First Edition.

Balakirev began his Piano Concerto in E-flat major in 1861-2 but left it incomplete, resuming work on it in 1906. It remained incomplete at the time of his death, but was finished by his devoted pupil and friend, composer Sergei Lyapunov.

"Balakirev was a crucial figure in Russian music. He extended and developed the fusion which Glinka had accomplished between on the one hand the common-practice music of his day and on the other some musical elements of Russian character and others of a boldly experimental nature. Balakirev established patterns which could be used to express overtly national feeling in music. In his own compositions he demonstrated how this could be done, laying the basis for a rich repertory spanning all the contemporary genres." Stuart Campbell in Grove Music Online.

Item #34766

Price: $125.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by