[Op. 92]. Piano Concerto No. 1 in F minor [2-piano reduction]. Aleksandr GLAZUNOV.

[Op. 92]. Piano Concerto No. 1 in F minor [2-piano reduction]

Concerto pour piano avec orchestre en fa mineur, Op. 92 … Partie de piano avec second piano

Leipzig: M. P. Belaïeff [PN 3034], 1912.

Folio. Original publisher's wrappers gray wrappers with titling within decorative border. [3] (title printed in dark green, 4-71, [i] ([publisher's catalogue) pp. Title in German and Russian to upper. With publisher's catalogue to inner wrappers.

Printed dedication at head of title: "A Monsieur Leopold Godowsky, hommage respecteuex de l'auteur."

From the collection of pianist Mario Feninger (1923-2016), with his initials to head of upper wrapper.

Wrappers slightly worn and soiled; minor loss to head and tail of spine. Slightly browned.

First Edition.

"Within Russian music, Glazunov has a significant place because he succeeded in reconciling Russianism and Europeanism. He was the direct heir of Balakirev's nationalism but tended more towards Borodin's epic grandeur. At the same time he absorbed Rimsky-Korsakov's orchestral virtuosity, the lyricism of Tchaikovsky and the contrapuntal skill of Taneyev. There was a streak of academicism in Glazunov which at times overpowered his inspiration, an eclecticism which lacks the ultimate stamp of originality. The younger composers (Prokofiev, Shostakovich) abandoned him as old-fashioned. But he remains a composer of imposing stature and a stabilizing influence in a time of transition and turmoil." Boris Schwarz in Grove Music Online.

Item #34771

Price: $50.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by