[ČW 93; Op. 50]. Trio pour piano, violon et violoncelle [Score and parts]. Pyotr Il’yich TCHAIKOVSKY.
[ČW 93; Op. 50]. Trio pour piano, violon et violoncelle [Score and parts]

[ČW 93; Op. 50]. Trio pour piano, violon et violoncelle [Score and parts]

... Op. 50

Hambourg: D. Rahter [PN 5020], [ca. 1882].

Folio. Disbound. 1f. (recto title printed in red, blue, and brown on dark yellow patterned ground, verso blank), [1] (full-page chromolithographic dedication with "A La Mémoire d'Un Grand Artiste" printed within decorative floral wreath), 2-115 pp. + 2 parts, 23 pp. each.

Handstamp "Moscou Chez P. Jurgenson" below imprint.

From the colleciton of the German-born English pianist and music critic Edward Dannreuther (1844-1905), with his small oval handstamp to blank upper margin of title and parts.

Slightly worn and soiled; occasional foxing; minor browning to edges.

First Edition, variant issue, with "Leipsic, F. Kistner" printed to foot of title and without "Varsovia G. Sennewald." Vajdman ČW 93, p. 495. Poznansky TH 117, p. 301.

Tchaikovsky's Piano Trio, Op. 50 was written following the death of Nikolai Rubinstein, dedicated "To the memory of a great artist", and premiered at the Moscow Conservatory on 11 March 1882, the first anniversary of Rubinstein's death.

"Tchaikovsky showed an easy command of sonata-allegro in the first movement, but after a conventional beginning the theme and variations runs to the fanciful. Figural variations and a fugue mix with intonations of the music box, the waltz, the bayan and the mazurka – as if these were personal recollections of Rubinstein. To stem the flood of memory he set apart the weighty final variation, and reprised the opening theme of the first movement as a funeral march at the end." Roland John Wiley in Grove Music Online.

Dannreuther was a professor at the Royal College of Music in London and a respected performer in London musical circles.

Item #36241

Price: $350.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by