Concerti Grossi ... Opera Sesta [Complete set of parts]. Arcangelo CORELLI.
Concerti Grossi ... Opera Sesta [Complete set of parts]

Concerti Grossi ... Opera Sesta [Complete set of parts]

XII Great Concertos, or Sonatas, for two Violins and a Violoncello or for two Violins more, a Tenor, and a Thorough-Bass: which may be doubled at Pleasure, being the sixth and last work of Arcangelo Corelli

London: Preston, [1790-1800].

Folio. Disbound.

Violino primo del concertino: 1f. (title), [1] (blank), 2-34 pp.
Violino secondo del concertino: 1f. (title), 32 pp.
Violoncello del concertino: 1f. (title), 31 pp.
Violino primo del concerto grosso: 1f. (title), 27 pp.
Violino secondo del concerto grosso: [1] (title), 2-21 pp.
Alto viola: 1f. (title), 19 pp.
Basso del concerto grosso: [1] (title), 2-27 pp.


Uniform light browning, slightly heavier to titles; occasional foxing, soiling, minor stains, and offsetting; dampstaining to lower margins of Violino secondo del concerto grosso part; some pencilled annotations. Quite a good, crisp copy overall.

Marx pp. 204-5, no. 11 (dating the present edition at 1790; title as per the Walsh & Hare edition of 1715). BUC p. 217. (dating the present edition at 1800). RISM C3851 (one complete copy of this edition only in the U.S.).

"Despite the modest size of his output, comprising six collections of instrumental music and a handful of other authentic works ... Corelli exercised an unparalleled influence during his lifetime and for a long time afterwards ... In England, particularly his op. 6 concertos were regarded as classics; they continued to be played, and preferred even to those of Handel, well into the 19th century." Michael Talbot in Grove Music Online.

Item #36253

Price: $600.00  other currencies

See all items in Printed Music
See all items by