Orphée aux Enfers, Opéra bouffon en deux actes et quatre tableaux, Paroles de Mr. Hector Crémieux ... Partition chant et piano Prix 8f. Net. A son ami Ludovic Halévy Répertoire des Bouffes Parisiens. [Piano-vocal score]

Paris: Heugel et Cie. [H. 2372.], [after 1858].

Large octavo. Quarter dark red morocco with marbled boards, raised bands on spine in gilt-ruled-compartments, titling gilt, marbled endpapers. 1f. (recto title, verso blank), 1f. (recto named cast list and table of contents, verso blank), 147, [i] (blank) pp. Lithographed.

Named cast includes Léonce, Désirée, Tavau, Bache, J. Paul, Antognini, Floquet, Tautin, Chabert, Macé, Garnier, Geoffroy, Enjalbert, and Cico.

Handstamps of the publisher and "Magasin Brandus - Retté & Cie." to lower outer margins of title.

Binding slightly worn. Minor internal wear; very occasional light foxing.

First Edition of the first version, later issue. Fuld, pp. 159-160. Lesure II, p. 226.

Orphée aux enfers, to a libretto by Hector-Jonathan Crémieux and Ludovic Halévy, was first performed in Paris at the Théâtre des Bouffes-Parisiens (Salle Choiseul) on October 21, 1858.

"Orphée aux enfers marked a significant advance for Offenbach in 1858. From being restricted by the terms of his licence to producing short works for just a few performers, he was now permitted to use larger casts and chorus and to offer his audiences a full-length work for the first time. Though the idea of parodying Greek mythology (see Orpheus) was not new, the vehemence with which Offenbach did so, not least by turning a stately minuet into a cancan, caused a good deal of critical comment. However, this merely served to increase interest in the work and ensure its overwhelming success in Paris. In turn this led to international celebrity on an enlarged scale and substantially accelerated the pace of acceptance of his works abroad... in 1874 Offenbach expanded the four scenes into four separate acts for a spectacular production at the Théâtre de la Gaîté... This opened with a new overture... and introduced new characters, two ballets and several new vocal numbers." Andrew Lamb in Grove Music Online.

Item #36737

Price: $150.00  other currencies

See all items in New Arrivals, Printed Music
See all items by