Item #39224 Fünf Klavierstücke ... Op. 23. Arnold SCHOENBERG.
Fünf Klavierstücke ... Op. 23
Fünf Klavierstücke ... Op. 23

Fünf Klavierstücke ... Op. 23

København & Leipzig: Wilhelm Hansen [PN 18298], November 1923.

Small folio. Original publisher's light green wrappers with titling within decorative dark green border. 1f. (recto title with bust-length portrait drawing of the composer by Rudolf Herrmann, verso printed performance notes), 3-20 pp. With publisher's advertisement for Schoenberg's Serenade opus 24 to verso of lower wrapper. "Wilhelm Hansen Edition No. 2326" to head of title.

Wrappers slightly worn, browned, and foxed; detached. Minor internal wear; creasing to upper inner margins.

First Edition, first issue. Arnold Schoenberg Center Vienna website. The second issue contains a reproduction of a photographic portrait.

The waltz concluding the cycle, first sketched in 1921, is considered the earliest example of Schoenbergian twelve-note composition.

Item #39224

Price: $450.00  other currencies

See all items in New Arrivals, Printed Music
See all items by