Item #39252 Concerto for Orchestra. [Full score]. Béla BARTÓK.

Concerto for Orchestra. [Full score]

London - New York - Sydney - Toronto - Cape Town: Boosey & Hawkes [PN B. & H. 9009], [1946].

Tall folio. Original publisher's light olive green wrappers printed in dark brown. 1f. (recto title, verso note on first performance and instrumentation list), 147, [i] (publisher's list of "Concertos and Concert Pieces for Solo Instruments and Orchestra"). Publisher's catalogue ("Works by Béla Bartók in the Catalogues of Boosey & Hawkes") within ruled border to verso of lower wrapper.

With printed note to head of first page of music stating that the Concerto was written for the Koussevitzky Music foundation in memory of Mrs. Natalie Koussevitzky; "No. 374" printed to lower left of final page and "301" printed to lower right. Colour bookplate of William Boyer with image of Spanish-style guitar to title. Boosey & Hawkes watermark to many leaves.

Wrappers slightly worn; spine reinforced with dark green cloth tape. Minor wear; occasional markings in pencil.

First Edition. Scarce. Szabolcsi 116. Fuld pp. 179-180.

First performed in New York at Carnegie Hall on 1 December 1944 with Serge Koussevitzky conducting the Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Item #39252

Price: $675.00  other currencies

See all items in New Arrivals, Printed Music
See all items by